March 27, 2014 6:29 pm
Home » Featured Stories » Cyndi Lauper Re-Releasing “She’s So Unusual”, Listen To Nervo Remix Of “Time After Time”

Cyndi Lauper Re-Releasing “She’s So Unusual”, Listen To Nervo Remix Of “Time After Time”

80s’ pop icon Cyndi Lauper will celebrate the 30th anniversary of her iconic debut solo album, She’s So Unusual, by reissuing the LP with a slew of bonus material — including demos, rehearsal audio, and remixes.

The 30th Anniversary Celebration edition of She’s So Unusual will feature a few classic remixes along with some exciting brand new mixes. Lauper’s best known ballad “Time After Time” has been remixed by Australian twin sisters Nervo; as well Bent Collective, a remix duo made up of Danny Verde (Italy) and Steven Redant (Madrid). Widely considered Lauper’s signature song, “Girls Just Want To Have Fun” has been given the remix treatment by Australian duo Yolanda Be Cool, who scored an international hit with “We No Speak Americano” in 2010.

Originally released in October of 1983, She’s So Unusual launched Lauper’s career to unprecedented heights. The album solidified Lauper’s spot in pop music history by becoming the first LP from a female singer to have four top five singles chart on the Hot 100 from one album. The record, which remains Lauper’s biggest selling album to date, spawned several hit singles, including: “Girls Just Want to Have Fun”, “Time After Time”, “She Bop”, “All Through the Night”, and “Money Changes Everything”.

Produced by Rick Chertoff, William Wittman and Lauper, She’s So Unusual won two of the six Grammy Awards it was nominated for. “Cyndi Lauper sounds like no other singer on the current scene,” Kurt Loder writes in his original Rolling Stone She’s So Unusual album review. “Lauper’s extraordinary pipes connect with the right material, the results sound like the beginning of a whole new golden age.”

The 30th anniversary edition of She’s So Unusual will be released April 1, 2014. You can stream the Nervo remix of “Time After Time,” which premiered on People, below. Thanks to Adam from Twitter for the tip!


Disc: 1
1. Money Changes Everything
2. Girls Just Want To Have
3. When You Were Mine
4. Time After Time
5. She Bop
6. All Through The Night
7. Witness
8. I’ll Kiss You
9. He’s So Unusual
10. Yeah Yeah
11. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (2013 Yolanda Be Cool Remix)
12. Time After Time (2013 Nervo Remix)
13. Time After Time (2013 Bent Collective Remix)

Disc: 2
1. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Early Guitar Demo)
2. All Through The Night (1982 rehearsal, with studio dialog)
3. Rules And Regulations (1982 Rehearsal)
4. Money Changes Everything (Demo)
5. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Demo)
6. Right Train, Wrong Track (Non LP B-Side)
7. Witness (Live, Boston, 1984)
8. She Bop (1983 Arthur Baker Remix)
9. Time After Time (Work In Progress Rough Mix)

About Jared Braden

Hi! I'm Jared Braden, the man behind this website. I'm here to share music with you that you'll hopefully find enjoyable. If you have any ideas, suggestions or requests, please feel free to send me an email at jaredbraden(at) You can also find me on Twitter: Follow @jaredbraden
'); (function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;} js = d.createElement(s); = id; js.src = "//"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk')); } }); $.post('', { action: 'fbc_ping', post_id: '2752', nonce: '0d5d94ba8c' }); })(jQuery);

Leave a Comment

Adrenaline (feat. Myah Marie)
5 hours and 54 minutes ago
Scroll To Top