August 25, 2014 9:47 am
The Latest:
Home » Featured Stories » Annie Lennox Announces New Album “Nostalgia”

Annie Lennox Announces New Album “Nostalgia”

This is the most exciting news I’ve heard all week! Annie Lennox has announced the release of a brand new album titled Nostalgia! The record, which will be released on October 27th, is a collection of the iconic singer’s impassioned takes on standards primarily from the 1930s and 1940s, many of them popularized by the likes of Billie Holiday, Nina Simone, Jo Stafford and Louis Armstrong.

Speaking about the new record to Billboard, Lennox said, “I was just curious, I thought, ‘I wonder what my voice would be like. Would these songs suit my voice?’

“It was like a little challenge. I just sort of got to know them, became friends with them really and had a great deal of joy in the process.”

The music on Nostalgia was mostly played by Annie alongside her long-time collaborator and co-producer, Mike Stevens and was recorded in his West London studio. Finding Lennox at her most soulful, Nostalgia brings levels of depth and warmth to songs that primarily originated from the civil-rights era.

Nostalgia, Annie’s 7th overall studio album, will be released by Island Records in the UK and internationally, and by Blue Note Recordings in the US. Annie released her last non-holiday studio album, Songs of Mass Destruction, in 2007. The album peaked at number nine on the U.S. Billboard 200.


01. Memphis in June
02. Georgia on my Mind
03. I Put a Spell on You
04. Summertime
05. I Cover the Waterfront
06. Strange Fruit
07. God Bless the Child
08. You Belong to Me
09. September in the Rain
10. I Can Dream, Can’t I?
11. The Nearness of You

Annie Lennox Nostalgia

About Jared Braden

I'm Jared Braden, the man behind this website. I can usually be found hanging out on Twitter tweeting random thoughts and ideas. If you're on Facebook, you can find me there, too! I love to hear from my readers, so if have any ideas, suggestions, requests or just want to talk music, please feel free to send me an email at jaredbraden(at)

Leave a Comment