December 5, 2014 4:45 am
Home » News » Out Now! Information Society Return With New Studio Album, “_hello world”

Out Now! Information Society Return With New Studio Album, “_hello world”

Pioneering synth-pop band Information Society, best known for the hits “What’s on Your Mind,” “Walking Away,” “Think,” and their cover of “Lay All Your Love on Me”, has released their brand new studio album _hello world via iTunes. “This album is both a birth and a rebirth,” explains founding member Paul Robb. “It’s been so long since we’ve made new music together it almost seems like a whole new thing, and yet anybody who has ever listened to one of our records will immediately recognize our style.”

Information Society is Paul Robb (synths), Kurt Larson (vocals) and James Cassidy (bass, keyboards). Riding the tidal wave of synthpop acts to emerge in the 1980s, the band stood out among the rest with its infectious blend of pop sensibility and dance-floor beats. The group first struck chart gold in 1988 with the infectious synthpop/freestyle single “What’s on Your Mind (Pure Energy).” The song not only reached the top of the dance charts, it spent a staggering 39 weeks on it. It also crossed over to the pop charts, peaking at #3 on the Billboard pop charts in October of 1988.

About Jared Braden

Hello! I'm Jared Braden, a Texas native who lives and breathes for pop and dance music. You can find me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, so feel free to say "hello" or some other simple greeting.
Next: Video Premiere: Vassy, Dave Audé and Crazibiza – “Hustlin'”