Sunday, January 5, 2014
Home » Music News » Neneh Cherry’s New Album Includes Collaboration With Robyn

Neneh Cherry’s New Album Includes Collaboration With Robyn

Swedish singer-songwriter Neneh Cherry, best known for her 1989 single “Buffalo Stance”, will release a new 10-track studio album titled Blank Project early next year. Produced by award-winning electronic musician and producer Four Tet, the album is slated for release on February 25th in the UK and Europe, and the United States the following day.

According to the press release, the long player is a step in a new direction for Cherry. ”Blank Project is a departure from anything Neneh has previously done, initially written as a means of working through personal tragedy. What stands out upon first listen is the album’s sparseness: loose drums and a few synthesizers are the only accompaniment to Neneh’s wildly poetic, sometimes-spoken, sometimes-screeching, soul-flooded and raw vocals.”

Throughout her long and legendary career, Cherry has performed and recorded with some of the most cherished names in pop music, including Matt Johnson of The The, Groove Armada, Cher, Chrissie Hynde, and Kleerup. Now Neneh can add another impressive name to the list: Swedish pop princess Robyn! While I’ve yet to hear the song, I have high hopes that it will be amazing! You can listen to the title track from Blank Project below.

‘Blank Project’ Tracklisting:

01. Across The Water
02. Blank Project
03. Naked
04. Spit Three Times
05. Weightless
06. Cynical
07. 422
08. Out Of The Black (featuring Robyn)
09. Dossier
10. Everything

Jared Braden

Jared Braden is a music enthusiast and blogger who loves all things pop and dance. He is always on the lookout for new and exciting pop acts to bring to you.
Instant Repeater
51 minutes ago
Scroll To Top